Tale of Gamers: Part 3

It’s been a while since I wrote about it, but it was time for the next Tale of Gamers battle last week (now with eighth edition rules!). I’ve decided to change which army I’ll be doing for this, working on expanding and building my Tyranids instead of the Inquisition. Don’t get me wrong, I love Ariada du Bois and her little Inquisitorial force – but it feels right in smaller games, rather than the larger ones we’ll be progressing into. I’ve always imagined Ariada and her exploits along the lines of the Eisenhorn or Ravenor books; small groups of warriors fighting a secret war for the good of the Imperium. So, I’d like to keep my Inquisitor and her force for smaller games, and have decided instead to build up my Tyranid Hive Fleet for this Tale of Gamers.

I’ve talked before about how I started Tyranids back in third edition before selling them all off during a break from wargaming, and am really enjoying rebuilding the force. The Hive Fleet Leviathan colour scheme is very relaxing to paint (for me, at least). So far, my updated Tale of Gamers force consists of:

The Swarmlord
Broodlord
12 Genestealers
20 Hormagaunts
30 Termagants (10 with Devourers)
2 Carnifexes with Monstrous Scything Talons, Devourers and Thresher Scythe

(It’s a bit of a mess points-wise as my 7th edition 1000pts turned out not to be legal in 8th edition due to little changes like the minimum unit size for Zoanthropes, so it got re-jigged for 8th. Everyone else’s has also been a bit messy regarding points with the edition change, so we’re going to be matching points as closely as possible this time and then simply increasing our forces to 1500pts for next time.)

This week’s game ended up being a three-player match due to an odd number of people, with my Tyranids facing off against the nefarious Drukhari and a green tide of Orks that threatened to outnumber even my bugs! The armies clashed together quickly, with a 30-strong mob of Ork boyz charging into and obliterating my Hormagaunts in a single round of combat. In retaliation, the Swarmlord, Broolord and Genestealers charged into the unit, scything their way through the greenskins and obliterating the unit in return. One of the Carnifexes was struck dead-on by a beam from the Drukhari’s Dark Lance, while the other found itself having to double back to deal with a unit of Mandrakes who appeared behind my lines. The Termagants advanced through an abandoned PDF trenchline, the beetles from their Devourers making short work of a squad of Hellions before the Reaver Jetbikes and a Raider full of Warriors sped over (man those things are fast!), killing the ‘gaunts with a hail of splinter fire and a combined charge. Due to time constraints the game had to end there, with a victory going to the Orks for first blood and objectives.

Tyranids swarm across the abandoned PDF trenchline towards the Orks and Drukhari.

A Hormagaunt brood leaps forward.

Drukhari Mandrakes appear behind the Tyranid lines.

Hordes clash with hordes as the Ork and Tyranid lines meet.

Accompanied by the Swarmlord and the Broodlord, the Genestealers break the Ork lines by destroying the large Ork mob.

A combined Drukhari assault breaks the Tyranids on the right flank.

I’ve actually been very industrious and have managed to paint far more than just that lot, though there’s still quite a bit to go! Currently on the painting table are some more Hormagaunts, backed up by three Warriors, a Lictor and a few more Genestealers. Hopefully they’ll be finished soon, and I can move on to painting up those all-important units – Venomthropes and Tyrant Guard (I know, I really should prioritise those two units – but the others are already half-painted, and I’m loath to stop when they’re already partially done!).

I’m not sure what I want to add in to the force for next month’s game – I’d certainly like to bump up the Hormagaunts and Genestealers to their maximum unit sizes, and get some Tyrant Guard in to help protect the Swarmlord. After that, I’m not sure – I’ve already painted a Trygon so it’d be a shame not to include her, but then again I have also got those Venomthropes and a Tervigon on the painting table…

Take care,

Ben

Leave a Reply

