Magic: The Gathering & Charity part 2

A while ago, I wrote about starting a charity project for WWF’s tiger preservation & protection. Despite purchasing the cards and donating the money, I’ve only just gotten around to writing about the progress of this little pet project.

Artwork for Stalking Tiger (C) by Terese Nielsen.

So far, the deck’s clocked in at £30.94, and features at least one of (almost) every tiger I could find in MTG:

1 x Zodiac Tiger
1 x Jedit Ojanen of Efrava
2 x Springing Tiger
2 x Zarichi Tiger
2 x Riparian Tiger
3 x Seht’s Tiger
4 x Stalking Tiger
4 x Phantom Tiger
1 x Cave Tiger
1 x Scythe Tiger
2 x Primal Bellow
4 x Vines of Vastwood
4 x Tiger Claws
2 x Ethereal Armour
2 x Chosen By Heliod
1 x Divine Favour
1 x Spear of Heliod
2 x Rancor
13 x Forest
7 x Plains
1 x Selesnya Guildgate

I’ve tried to include all the tigers I could find (except for Sabretooth Tiger, just because I didn’t want to splash in red as well for just one creature. I’ve still bought four of them, though, and the amount spent is included in the amount donated!), with multiples of my favourites (Stalking Tiger in particular – just look at Terese Nielsen’s artwork above in its full resolution glory!). There’s even the elusive Zodiac tiger in there, because it’s a nice-looking card and (at £5 a pop) it was a good way to easily increase the amount donated to WWF.

I’ve played the deck against a few friends, and it’s actually working surprisingly well – thanks in no small part to the combo of the Phantom Tiger (a card which still makes me sad when you look at the artwork) and Spear of Heliod / Tiger Claws / Chosen by Heliod / anything that gives it +x/+1, since that makes it effectively immortal!

I’m enjoying this – it’s great to combine a (casual) hobby of mine with such an important cause, and one that’s very close to my heart. I think that I’ll be adding in some more cards like Spear Of Heliod soon, to increase the donated amount and to focus the deck more on buffing up the tigers. I’d also like to pick up some more interesting lands like Oran-Rief the Vastwood and Llanowar Reborn. Don’t worry, the focus will still be very firmly on only using tiger creatures and as many thematic cards as possible! I’ll definitely be working on this deck over the coming months and, as before, will be donating an equal amount to whatever I spend to WWF’s tiger preservation.

Kind regards,

Ben

Leave a Reply

