Looking back, looking forward: end of 2015 and the start of a new year

Like many of us, each year I like to take a little look back at the year, and try to plan some of the upcoming one. 2015’s been a pretty good year, I suppose, all told. The stand-out parts for me have to be the Malifaux doubles tournament at Element Games, as well as the charity swim I organised and completed, and raised over £700 for the Samaritans. To be honest, I’d consider that one of my most positive experiences in my life so far and one of the things I’m most proud of, especially since it was such a personal issue for me.

In 2016, I’d love to do something similar again, a triathlon perhaps, to raise more money for charities such as the Samaritans – I think it’s so important that people feel like there’s someone they can talk to, and that suicide isn’t the only option or the only way out.

On a lighter gaming-related note, I’m also aiming  to up my Malifaux tournament attendance – in an ideal world I’d love to attend at least one a month. Unfortunately my location means that most tournaments require substantial travelling, often with an overnight stay. I’m not averse to staying in a Premier Inn or the like – truth be told I kind of enjoy it actually! – but the costs do rack up fairly quickly. Still, I’m going to try and attend as many as I think I can, so we’ll see how far the limited budget stretches.

playmore

Pretty much my second resolution for 2016.

Another Malifaux-related goal for 2016 is going to be ‘Marcus Month’. As a full-time Arcanist player I generally think I’m pretty good at varying my masters so they all see time on the table – except Marcus. He’s quite different to the rest of them what with his focus on Beasts rather than Constructs and / or M&SU models, and I just haven’t used him enough to really be confident with him as I am with, say, Colette or Ironsides. So, this year I intend to make sure that changes by having a whole four weeks dedicated to Marcus. I’ll be writing about him, using him in every game, and picking up any Beast models still missing from my collection.

Marcus-1440x900I think those are the main personal goals for next year – I’m happy with my regular gym routine and physical fitness, and my painting backlog is fairly minimal. I am getting back into X-Wing as well, so who knows, that may make an appearance or two over the coming year.

And, of course, thank you to all my readers for sticking with me another year :) I really do enjoy writing this blog, so it means a lot to me.

Take care, and all the best for 2016 to you all,

Ben

3 thoughts on “Looking back, looking forward: end of 2015 and the start of a new year

  1. Pingback: Malifaux: Painting Colette, the Avatar of Deception | forgotmytea

  2. Pingback: Malifaux: Painting Marcus | forgotmytea

  3. Pingback: Malifaux: The Blessed of December | forgotmytea

Leave a Reply

