Raising money for charity with a sponsored swim

First off, apologies for the lack of a post last week – I’ve been really busy with various real-life things, and just didn’t have time to write anything.

One of the main things that’s been taking up my free time has been going to the gym. I’m a big advocate of physical exercise anyway, and have been going to my gym five times a week on a regular schedule for the past two years now, but I’ve decided that I want to do more. To that end, I’ve arranged to do a sponsored swim for charity, where I’ll swim two miles to raise money for the Samaritans.

The Samaritans are a charity aimed at providing emotional support to anyone in emotional distress, struggling to cope, or at risk of suicide throughout the United Kingdom and Ireland. This is a particulary personal issue for me as my Dad took his own life two and a half years ago, and so suicide prevention is very close to my heart. I hope that, by raising money for this, we’ll be able to do a little to help stop others going through what my family and I have been.

If you’d like to donate, it would be so appreciated – I’ve got a JustGiving page set up, and copied the link below. I really do think this is such an important cause, and one that’s often sadly neglected. Speaking from first-hand experience, suicide is absolutely devastating, and so the work and support charities like the Samaritans do is incredible. If you’ve got any questions, please feel free to comment or click on ‘Terms and Conditions’ where there’s a form you can use to send me a private email.

https://www.justgiving.com/Ben-Brissenden

On a lighter, more usual note, I’ve been frantically assembling my new Ironsides crew. Unfortunately I’ve run out of spray paint so I can’t paint them yet, but I’ve ordered a new can in the post. I’m going to another Malifaux tournament (one with a painting requirement) in a couple of weeks’ time, and would love to have Ironsides and her lot ready! I’ve also started on Rasputina and her crew – far simpler, since I purchased the translucent blue set. All they need is a wash, a bit of detail, and to be based. I’ll put up some pictures as soon as they’re done.

Thanks for reading, and take care,

Ben

4 thoughts on “Raising money for charity with a sponsored swim

  1. Pingback: [Malifaux] Winter is coming…. | forgotmytea

  2. Pingback: [Malifaux] Lazarus | forgotmytea

  3. Pingback: Looking back, looking forward: end of 2015 and the start of a new year | forgotmytea

  4. Pingback: Malifaux: Heartfaux 2016 | forgotmytea

Leave a Reply

