Malifaux: Why do I buy models?

Upon my finishing work today, I found a small package waiting for me inside my hallway. Opening it, it turned out to be the avatar Seamus model I’d ordered myself earlier this month.

But Ben, I hear, why would you get an avatar Seamus? You’ve already got one, and it’s not like you can really use him any more what with the avatar changes Wyrd announced (well, outside from using him in lieu of the emissary, that is). The revelation that I had ordered myself a second aSeamus certainly got more than a few laughs from my friends, too.

It’s true, I do probably acquire models – particularly Malifaux models – at a slightly greater rate than I use them. Amongst the Iron Zombies and Void Wretches on my painting table sits Hans the Outcast sniper – I’m not sure when I’ll get around to fielding him in-game, but there he is anyway. He’s certainly got a great ruleset with some very fun abilities (‘Smile, you son of a…’ has to be one of favourite action names ever), and I’d imagine that he could fit in well with both of my primary factions – Resurrections since they never have enough guns, and Guild because there’s no such thing as ‘enough guns’ when you’re running a Guild crew ;)

In all seriousness, I’ve come to accept that I love all aspects of this hobby. I’m a frequent browser of Dakka and Warseer (albeit a very infrequent poster), and this sort of discussion seems to arise fairly regularly – people split into two camps of those who hate the painting side of the hobby but love to play, and those who buy models for the sheer joy of painting them. Personally, I’m one of those who falls in the dead centre between both camps. Painting really is a labour of love for me, even if I’m not that great at it – it’s something that I can do to relax and wind down when I finish work, or after a stressful day. Of course, I love gaming too, even if I’m worse at that than I am at painting – I wouldn’t be off to another tournament in a few weeks if I didn’t! – but I can’t deny that now and then I will pick up a model with the primary purpose being the joy of painting it. My latest purchase, the aSeamus that inspired this whole post, was bought as much for the fun of painting him in his modern brown clothes as much as for use in campaign games.

I wouldn’t even say that I’m a collector, really, or not in the sense that I buy models to own and display them. I’ve got a display case, sure, but it’s split between my wife’s Discworld models, some scale models of Serenity from the TV show Firefly, my Uruk-Hai command models (until a case arrives for them), my smokey plastic Tara crew and a few painted models ranging from an old metal Seamus to some Heroclix models I repainted once(!).

So here I sit, filing and cleaning my second avatar Seamus, and you know what – I couldn’t be happier with my purchase.

Take care,

Ben

One thought on “Malifaux: Why do I buy models?

Leave a Reply

