Tabletop Tuesday: Necron Ghost Ark

First off, my apologies – I’ve been so busy recently that I haven’t had time to really write or prep anything this week. So today’s Tabletop Tuesday will take a look back into 40K, a game I don’t really play much anymore, and the Necron’s transport of choice – the Ghost Ark.

One of the main reasons for taking a transport is the additional maneuverability it provides, and the Ghost Ark certainly does that. While it’s not particularly fast, it’s still faster than the bulk of the Necron army. Given today’s shifting-objective focus of 40K through the tactical objective cards, I think that increased maneuverability is more key than ever since you’ll never know which objective you need to dash over to next. The Ghost Ark’s ability to act as an ambulance of sorts and heal a nearby squad has to be one of my favourites, and helps reinforce its role as a front-line support vehicle. It’s also surprisingly durable, with Necron Quantum Shielding and an impressive four hull points(!).

However, as is so often the case it does come with its downsides. For starters it’s a rather expensive model, clocking in at 115pts. Added to that is its low transport capacity, meaning that the squads it ferries to the front lines are often going to be more support-oriented than linebreakers. And then there’s the defensive capabilities in the form of the rather thematic broadsides of gauss flayers – I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t expect transports to generally be rocking out with that much firepower, but it’s always seemed to me that the Ghost Ark’s broadsides only really come into full effect when the model’s surrounded, which is often far from ideal!

After all that, though, I do like the old Ghost Ark and one is pretty much always in my force. I’d probably have two, to be honest, if I still played enough 40K to warrant any more purchases. It adds some much-needed maneuverability to the basic squads of Necron warriors and immortals, and the healing factor is fantastic especially given that it doesn’t have to target its own squad. It certainly comes to the fore in Necron Warrior focused armies, and I must confess that’s the kind of army I tend to run, but I think that what with today’s shifting objective rules the Ghost Ark is more useful than ever.

Of course, that’s only one (self-confessed) lapsed 40K player’s opinion! I’d love to hear what other people think of the Ghost Ark and whether it’s a viable option – join in with the comments below :)

Take care,

Ben

Leave a Reply

