Painting: Wood Elf Waywatchers

They’ve taken a lot longer than I anticipated, but I’ve finally finished painting my Wood Elf Waywatchers. The models are beautiful with a fantastic amount of detail, and despite the time were great fun to paint.

IMGP1678IMGP1681I kept the same colour theme as the rest of my army, focusing on greens and browns with touches of blue. Waywatchers tend to have more bare skin than Glade Guard, so I tried to make the most of that for the contrast. The bows were painted in the usual Dheneb Stone and Dwarf Bronze to fit in with the rest of the army, and I used various shades for the hair to add variety to the unit. Unfortunately I haven’t finished basing them yet – they will have some green flock added to the bases, but my PVA’s run out.

Overall I’m very pleased with how they turned out, though I can’t say I relish painting any more of them! As I’ve mentioned the models are great with loads of little details, but it’s those little details that made the painting process (for me, at least) so long.

Finally, for those of you who don’t know, I’m getting married this week :) As such, Tactica Tuesday will be taking a temporary leave of absence for a few weeks for the wedding and honeymoon. Rest assured it’ll be back, but I just wanted to let you know why my blog’s going to be a bit quiet in the next few weeks!

Take care,

Ben

Leave a Reply

