[MtG] Angels and Dragons

I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned on my WordPress before that I play Magic the Gathering. Not very well at all, but it’s all good fun. I had a spare hour or so a few weekends ago while waiting for Fallout 3 to install, and decided to try my hand at building an EDH deck – I enjoyed it the last few times I played it (borrowing a friend’s deck), and kind of want to give it a proper go.

The ‘theme’ I had in mind was based around my general Aurelia, and her ability to let my creatures fight two combat rounds a turn. I’ve tried to go for hard-hitting creatures, accompanied by enchantments and the like that will buff up my creatures and enable them to hopefully and quickly smash through defences. After some trading at FNM, though, I am also now the proud owner of Gisela, Sword of Goldnight – so I’m not sure which angel will be leading my deck now! At the moment, though, I’m going for Gisela.

Aurelia-the-WarleaderGisela

The deck itself…

1 x Gisela, Blade of Goldnight (General)

19 x Mountain
19 x Plains
1 x Boros Guildgate
Angelic Wall
Street Spasm
Avenging Arrow
Arrest
Celestial Flare
Show of Valour
Swift Justice
Martial Law
Thraben Doomsayer
Angel of Jubilation
War Priest of Thune
Favoured Hoplite
Fanatic of Mogus
Dragon Hatchling
Dynacharge
Skyknight Legionnaire
Hellkite Tyrant
Evangel of Heliod
Aurelia, the Warleader
Hellkite Charger
Utvara Hellkite
Minotaur Aggressor
Traitorous Instinct
Archwing Dragon
Colossus of Akros
Nav Squad Commandos
Serra Angel
Flameblast Dragon
Silverblade Paladin
Shattering Blow
Angelic Skirmisher
Frontline Medic
Electrickery
Akroan Hoplite
Elite Inquisitor
Guardian of the Gateless
Knightly Valour
Witchbane Orb
Angelic Overseer
Tajic, Blade of the Legion
Seraph of the Sword
Honour of the Pure
Madcap Skills
Furious Resistance
Chained to the Rocks
Herald of War
Rootborn Defences
Arrows of Justice
Wojek Halberdiers
Slumbering Dragon
Boros Keyrune
Act of Treason
Thalia, Guardian of Thraben
Firemane Avenger
Conquering Manticore
Indestructibility
Bellows Lizard
Master of Diversion
Aurelia’s Fury
Moonsilver Spear

The idea behind the deck is using recurring combat phases to quickly deal lots of damage to my opponent directly – an ideal turn would be Aurelia’s Fury tapping down most (if not all!) defending creatures, and then attacking three or so times with Aurelia and the Hellkite Charger. I haven’t had a chance to try it yet, but I’m looking forward to giving it a go.

Take care,

Ben

Leave a Reply

