Breaking Bad season 5 spoiler-free review

Just to start – as with my review of The Walking Dead, I’m going to assume you’ve seen up to the start of season 5 :)

Breaking-Bad_-season05‘It’s an American TV show about this chemistry teacher who decides to cook meth’ is how I think Breaking Bad was first described to me. On that summary it really doesn’t sound like something I’d want to watch, but (thankfully!) I gave it a go and oh my, it captured me.

Season 5 picks up with the fallout from Gus’s demise at the end of season 4, and doesn’t let up the pace or intensity that we’ve all come to know and love. I really enjoyed the story arc in this final season – we’ve seen the characters develop so much, and yet Vince Gilligan still manages to offer us compelling and realistic developments as Walt, Jesse, Hank etc. face new situations and challenges. The actors all offer the same strong showings we’ve seen before, reinforcing my belief that they got the casting spot-on for everyone. It’s nice to see that the minor characters haven’t dropped out either – Skinny Pete and Badger still pop up, for example, which is great to see.

The plot continues to impress as well – I’m not going to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet, but the high quality of writing we’ve come to expect from Breaking Bad is still there. I’d even go so far as to say that season 5 has some of the most tense episodes and nerve-wracking cliffhangers of all the seasons; although I will admit that I watched the previous four on DVD, and so didn’t have to wait a week for each new episode! Still, the story is great and I for one am very pleased with how they did the ending. It didn’t feel rushed, and left me happy with the conclusion to this epic series.

Let me know what you thought of the final season – there’s certainly division amongst my friends as to whether we wanted more or felt it was a suitably amazing conclusion to an amazing series. The only question I have is, what am I going to watch now? ;)

Take care,

Ben

Leave a Reply

