The Walking Dead season 3 review

It’s gone midnight, and I’ve just finished watching season three of The Walking Dead – what better time to write a review?

Walking_Dead_Season_3_Official_PosterAs always, I’ll keep it spoiler-free – though I will assume you’ve seen up to the end of season two, and have a vague idea of the plot synopsis of season three. The casting continues to be stellar, with David Morissey as The Governor and Danai Gurira as Michonne offering fantastic performances alongside the regulars we’ve come to know and love. The story continues to develop well – Rick’s group of survivors find a prison which looks like a safe place to hole up, while Michonne and Andrea find themselves in the town of Woodbury, led by The Governor. Both these plot lines devlop in the traditional Walking Dead style of tense apocalyptic drama, converging and crossing as we see characters both old and new develop in often unexpected ways. I still find myself impressed by the writing – the characters remain believable and interesting, and it ranges from heart-warming to heart-breaking to see how they deal with the new events as they unfold. The music remains strong, in particular the final theme in the season finale – it could just be because I’ve only just watched it(!), but that song in particular struck a chord with me. All in all, I’ve really enjoyed this season and can’t wait to see where they take it next. If you’re a fan of the show, the comics, or just the zombie human-drama genre in particular, I’d definitely recommend this. If you’ve been watching it as well, let me know what you thought of this series, I’d love to hear.

As it’s gone midnight, and I’m pretty sure that was quite rambling, I really should get some sleep. Especially as it’s the Breaking Bad season 5 finale tomorrow on Netflix, so I’ll be watching and reviewing that as well.

Take care,

Ben

One thought on “The Walking Dead season 3 review

  1. Pingback: Tactica Tuesday: The Monolith | forgotmytea

Leave a Reply

