Proving that there’s still honour in online gaming…

I’ve come to the conclusion that the problem with all my previous attemps at blogging boil down to a lack of regular updates. The trouble is that there will be times when I just don’t have the time or the motivation to get any painting done, and this has been when the blog has stagnated before. So, to counter this I will be writing posts about a much wider range of topics – not just my modelling and painting, but also my own tactical thoughts, film reviews, what games I’m playing, and anything else that comes to mind.

To take a break from wargaming I’m going to go on a tangent into one of my all-time favourite games, Team Fortress 2. This is a game that I only discovered when I bought the Orange Box for Half-Life, but has rapidly become one of my favourite games to play. For those of you who don’t know, Team Fortress 2 is a first-person shooter online game, with various game modes from the classic capture the flag to more innovative types such as payload, where one team has to push a cart of explosives along a railway track while the other team tries to stop them. There are nine unique classes you can choose from, each with their own strengths, weaknesses and unique weapons. My all-time favourite is absolutely the engineer, but I’m actually going to be talking about the demoman this time. And, in particular…

Half-zaitoichi

This has to be one of my favourite weapons in the game. Contrary to many other games, the various weapons you can unlock aren’t really ‘better’ or ‘worse’ than the stock weapons, or than others you may own – they’re just different. Each weapon has unique pros and cons that help to balance it, so when I run demoman I typically stick with his stock weapons – just because I’m not keen on his alternative weapons, not because they’re better or worse. The one weapon I don’t stick with stock, though, is his melee, where I always take the Half-Zatoichi. You know what, here’s the stats:

Half-zatoichiI think it’s such a characterful and flavourful item, themed after a legendary Japanese swordsmith who was said to craft swords that, once drawn, couldn’t be sheathed until they’d killed. It’s all themed around this myth, with the weapon itself following the legend. To be fair, I’ve had a lot of times when I’ve drawn it to finish someone off, just to have a friendly scout appear out of nowhere, shotgun the person I was about to decapitate, and run off – leaving me with the unbloodied katana stuck in my hands as a minigun-toting heavy rounds the corner. But through use I like to think I’ve bettered myself with it, and to be fair its pro is a pretty major one – it’s great to counter people’s expectations by rushing into a pyro’s flamethrower, only to kill him and come out with full health.

Thanks for reading, and I hope to see you on Steam sometime. Invite me to or jump into a Team Fortress 2 game with me, I’m always happy to play.

Thanks,

Ben x

6 thoughts on “Proving that there’s still honour in online gaming…

  1. Pingback: Tactica Tuesday: TF2′s Soldier in MVM | forgotmytea

Leave a Reply

